With the May 25th upgrade inching even closer, there’s no doubt that questions may be sneaking into your mind! In this post, I will address some of the common questions and misconceptions surrounding the upgrade. We are here to support you and make this change as exciting and worry-free as possible.
1. Course content and other data will not be lost.
- All of the content and data contained in your courses will be maintained and is not at risk for being lost. The upgrade simply places a new “face” over the existing system – leaving all courses intact, just adding the new look and features. Additionally, there is no changes or preparation required from you – just remember the site is unavailable on May 25th. After the upgrade, you’ll find your materials under the new “Table of Contents” in the Content tool.
2. Course title has moved from the banner area.
- The course title is now shown in the minibar (which you can read about here). Moving the course title allows for providing as much space on the page as possible for course content and activities, while still keeping it readily visible from anywhere in the course!
3. Don’t let us stall your development!
- Feel free to start working on your Summer or Fall 2013 courses that start after the May 25th upgrade. You can go ahead and start building your course or copy your course. The upgrade won’t impact any of your changes, but will add some new features you may want to check out before your class starts.